• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Recommended 2017 Sous Vide Cookbook?

boilsover

Solid intermediate cook, here.  Not especially intimidated by elaborate preps.  But I'm new to SV, and would like a recommendation for a cookbook for guidance and exploration.

I was thinking of Tom Keller's Under Pressure, but I'm wondering if the preps he includes may not be the most generally useful.  What do you all like, and why?

Thanks!

Under Pressure must be the least useful SV book ever published...in my opinion.

I suggest:

http://www.douglasbaldwin.com/sous-vide.html

Of course one of the greatest sous vide resources on the planet is right here:

https://forums.egullet.org/

• Like 7
  • Haha 1

Cooking is cool.  And kitchen gear is even cooler.  -- Chad Ward

Whatever you crave, there's a dumpling for you. -- Hsiao-Ching Chou

29 minutes ago, JoNorvelleWalker said:

Under Pressure must be the least useful SV book ever published...in my opinion.

I suggest:

http://www.douglasbaldwin.com/sous-vide.html

Of course one of the greatest sous vide resources on the planet is right here:

https://forums.egullet.org/

I agree as well.  The ChefSteps site is also filled with great info (and Douglas Baldwin works with them too). 

• Like 3

Mark

My eG Food Blog

www.markiscooking.com

My NEW Ribs site: BlasphemyRibs.com

My NEWER laser stuff site: Lightmade Designs

All of the above. Chef steps, serious eats, and above all eGullet. 

Kellers book is pretty worthless. 

Really , all one needs are time and temp charts

Edited by gfweb (log)