• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Why You Should Never Take the Last Piece of Food

Hi everyone-

I'm a food writer, and I'm currently researching the idea that you should never take the last piece of food on a plate without asking while dining with others. I've seen instances of this in a wide range of cultures, from Filipino to Dutch, and it's occasionally referred to as the "piece of shame," or the"decency piece."

I'm really interested in hearing some personal anecdotes from people who've experienced this. Please comment below if you have any stories to share!

-Rachel 

Taking the last piece or portion without asking if anyone else wants it is just plain rude. An option to split it is then a nice thing to do. I recently made Gazpacho for part of a lunch spread for four people. I thought I had made an ample amount. Little did I know my BIL eats very fast. He served himself seconds, which amounted to all that was left, before anyone finished their first bowl. I just find that really irritating, and I'm not generally a stickler for perfect table manners.

If you ask, your host should let everyone know there's more in the kitchen, if that's the case. 

• Like 5