• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Day of the Dead

heidih

The Latin American tradition of the Day of the Dead, as I understand it, combines local indigenous traditions meshed with Catholicism and has some interesting food traditions we will explore in the next couple of weeks. I will link past topics in the second post.

Here is what Nancy offers and an introduction to the tradition that the food we will discuss is based on :

On 10/20/2013 at 8:39 PM, Nancy in Pátzcuaro said:

I'm really excited about talking about this. I'm very much a newbie here, but the tradition fascinates me. We are so used to death being a horrible thing, a tragedy, the end, that this tradition seems much healthier. Life, death--it's a continuum, and in this Catholic country it's just one step along the path. I don't have any personal faith, but I know it when I see it, and I see it here every day. Today the taxi driver who took me home with my heavy bags from the mercado crossed himself when he passed the Baslica, and that's not unusual. When I ride the collectivo we pass several little roadside shrines, and almost everyone on the bus crosses themselves and then kisses their thumb.