• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Milling and Baking with Heritage and Ancient Grains: Bread and Beyond

Shelby

I'm taking the plunge into milling my own flour to use in breads, sweets, maybe pasta etc. 

I have no experience....I've never even seen a home mill in person until last week when I became the very, very proud owner of a Komo Fidibus XL 600 watt grain mill.  The glass tube on the right is a sifter that attaches to the mill when you remove the bowl.  There are inserts for the sifter down in front that are different sizes.

I think it's so pretty.   Which is a good thing since it will be living on my kitchen counter a lot :)

IMG_6321.JPG.9741e68f2d9bfed1cb52ad09308ad20c.JPG

I'm well stocked with many different kinds of heritage and ancient grains:

IMG_6268.JPG.8de1a47f361ee3ba9cce2225b22f738e.JPG

IMG_6269.JPG.7235f331856da1931ed04857ca78e805.JPG

IMG_6270.JPG.aa0b126dc61cdc51ed429c875a84b66e.JPG

IMG_6271.JPG.c303f1d54e122b7efda7b5e163ae800b.JPG

IMG_6277.JPG.4bf01ec1ff791b134a5e541b7486f239.JPG

thumbnail_IMG_6293.jpg.8d94c47f7af0b5563d323cedce714de8.jpg

IMG_6366.JPG.055faf69aab83fc7643304febc218674.JPG

The manual that came with my mill says that you can also grind spices, legumes and coffee beans.  I've read online that you can also do rice which must be true because the manual also says that if you need to clean it for some reason (meaning you milled something oily that isn't recommended) you are to run long grain rice through.  

So, the last few days I've been googling and reading and watching videos online and also reading through the following books:

thumbnail_IMG_6359.jpg.698e50abcec16a15979710a4c770a543.jpg