• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Sous Vide Pork Chops

ElsieD

I'm brand new to sous vide cooking. I am using a PolyScience Immersion Circulator in a stock pot. Right now I have 4 bone in rib end pork chops in there which are 1.5 inches thick and individually vacuum sealed and seasoned with salt and pepper. The temperature is set at 135F. I plan on cooking them for 12 hours. I only have one thin little cookbook (I'm waiting on two others to arrive which will help a lot) and it is not very helpful. Can someone tell me if I am using the correct temperature setting and also if 12 hours is the correct amount of time? Thank you.

Baldwin has these numbers:

Loin Ch medium rare 130 2.5 - 3.5 H

medium 140 1.5 - 2.5

Rib Ch. medium rare 130 6 - 8 H

medium 140 6 - 8 H

Sirloin Ch. medium rare 130 8 - 12 H

medium 140 8 - 12 H

good luck and let us know

pics help!

So all you need to do is bring them to temperature: for 1.5" thick you probably want to set your water temp to 1° higher than your target temp following the recommendations of the Modernist Cuisine team. Then, assuming it is starting at 40°F, so needs to increase 95°F, it will take 1.5 hours.

Chris Hennes
Director of Operations
chennes@egullet.org

another SV tip:

get a notebook and keep track of where you got the meat, the cut you are SVing the seasonings and the time and temp

it ends up being very useful for finding your own zone. and yes, meat at different stores sometimes turns out very very differently.

Chris, how does that square with the times that rotuts posted? Sorry if I sound like an idiot but this is all so very, very, new to me.