• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Regarding garlic

Margaret Pilgrim

Garlic has a checkered reputation depending on your taste and personal history.

I've been cooking with garlic for some 50 years, segueing though powder and various presses and hand chopping.   But most recently, mostly due to laziness, I have been shaving cloves as thinly as possible and adding them as large flakes to whatever I'm cooking.   The result is a sweet and clean garlic flavor that has escaped me with finer crushes.   A revelation and new love affair with garlic.

HOWEVER, I am a fanatic in selecting garlic.   Fresh, young and plump yield an almost, if possible, subtle flavor.    When I find it, I stock up and use with gay abandon.   When  only aged heads are available, I'm careful.  

What's your preferences, prep,  usage?   

• Like 3

eGullet member #80.

Paulie was shaving garlic in Goodfellas, and I have been for about as long.

With longer cooks, I’ll braise or stew whole or half cloves.

For good garlic flavor w/o the sometimes unpleasantness of too strong or too old garlic, I’ll steep chopped garlic in lemon juice and just use the juice (like for hummus).

I use garlic powder or garlic salt when making old school stuff, like ranch dressing.

• Like 3

Mitch Weinstein aka "weinoo"

Tasty Travails - My Blog

My eGullet FoodBog - A Tale of Two Boroughs

Was it you baby...or just a Brilliant Disguise?

Great topic.

My big garlic issue is DONT  BURN IT.  So it goes in last and with moisture. Don't want any color on it unless I want that crappy Chinese take out flavor...which I haven't yet