• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Instant Pot Duo Mini 3 Qt

saluki

I have been using the Instant Pot Duo 6 Quart for a few years now and am very happy with it.  However, I am a single household and usually need to freeze much of what I've made.  When making smaller quantities I rely on pot in pot cooking.  I'm seeing the popularity of the 3 quart with RV people and wondered how functional this would be for a downsized house.  Can it really be used for more than side dishes?    If you have both sizes, how often do you find yourself using the smaller one?  Any experience with this size would be appreciated.

I've only had my mini for a few days but I love it!  I always have to scale down my recipes (also a one person household).

So far I've made beef stock for soup and beets but it's earning its counter space.

• 2 weeks later...

After reading your post I bought one.  Been away and didn't try it out till tonight....What a little gem it is!   I made the Miso Claypot Chicken from Lucky Peach's 101 Easy Recipes...with some adaptions-- although not called for...I added some Lap Cheong and sauteed both the chicken and the sausage using the saute function.  I used 2 rice cups of rice instead of the  one  the recipe called for (the rice cup only measures 3/4 of a cup) 1 cup jasmine and 1 cup haiga-mai.  A little more than 2 rice cups of water.   Timed it for 3 minutes.  was aiming to open the pressure release after 10 minutes but got delayed, so turned out to be 15.  Turned out much better than in my small Cuckoo rice cooker