• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Making Convenience Foods

Malawry

I have agreed to spend several hours one day a week in the kitchen, preparing items that can be frozen for later enjoyment when my partner, my housemate and I are too busy to cook. We maintain a mostly-vegetarian household (we eat fish). We are going on a fairly strict budget for the foreseeable future. Any suggestions for inexpensive freezables given these needs? I'm looking for soups, stews and items like baked pasta dishes that hold up well and won't cost a lot of money. I'm a reasonably capable cook and I have a chest freezer to hold everything. Thoughts?

Whatever you make, just be sure to:

• undercook the pasta, so it doesn't get all mushy in the reheating
  • wrap everything really tightly, or use good airtight containers, to avoid freezer burn
  • label everything clearly, so you have no surprises and can rotate your stock
  • package everything in meal-size portions, so that you don't have to re-re-reheat anything

I'd stick mostly to soups (split pea :rolleyes: ??) and such. There are so many dishes that you can make in minutes anyway (e.g., sauté broccoli and garlic while the pasta water is heating) that it seems unnecessary to make mains to heat up again. That said, though, I am partial to making a big pan of eggplant parmigian, or a slow-simmered ratatouille that can then be used to fill crèpes, or as a pasta sauce, or as a side with a quick slab of protein.

I've personally had good luck making, freezing, and reheating baked ziti and lasagna.

The first thing I thought of was vegetarian lasagne.