• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Substituting gelatin in a recipe because of syneresis

Lia Tumkus

Hi Guys,

this is my first time posting here! \o/

The cakes I make have a gelatin insert inside and because it's covered with mousse and it has a particular shape I have to freeze it. I also spray it with chocolate so I do need it quite frozen for it.

The problem is when it's starts to defrost the cakes with a gelatin layer start to sweat way more than it should and sometime it even brakes the mousse wall because there is so much water that needs to come out. Researching I found out about syneresis and I learn that gelatin shouldn't be freeze in any circumstances, now I am looking for other types of gelatins/gums to substitute my gelatin.

Does anybody knows any thaw freeze stable gelatin that I can use (and the ratios)? I am also looking for a gelatin with a good mouthfeel.

I'll be glad to try any suggestions,

Thanks guys!!!

Lia

I have a vanilla, a lemon grass and a whisky gelatin. All in different cakes.

My basic recipe for the vanilla gelatin is 45g water, 15g sugar, 2g (1 gold leaf ) 200 bloom gelatin and 7g vanilla paste.

Another big headache is the one with alcohol content, that naturally dehydrates the gelatin protein. The basic recipe for that one is 40g water, 10g sugar, 29g whisky and 2,5g g (1 1/4 gold leaf ) 200 bloom gelatin.