• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

New York Style Pizza, what makes it one?

Chris Cognac

O.K. gang I am going to start looking for the most authentic NY style pizza out here in L.A.. I am a pizza expert as far as eating them goes....but dont have much experiance on what makes a good NY style pizza. What should I look for in the pizza, prep, cooking etc....This will help me determine which place to write about for my little column in the paper so please all you authentic New Yorker's, help a west coast brother out with some info!

Moo, Cluck, Oink.....they all taste good!

The Hungry Detective

Wow... this is a controversial topic, to say the least.

IMO, authentic NY style pizza has a thin crust, not too many topings, is baked in a coal-fired oven and has some char on the bottom. There may be some commonalities in terms of sauce and cheese -- I don't know. Patsy's in East Harlem strikes me as the archetype. Others will no doubt have something to say about that.

--

I don't think it has to be baked in a coal-fired oven to be NY style. It is based on a Neapolitan Pizza, but the NY crust is not as thin or crisp. The classic NY style pizza IMO is the cheese and tomato sauce on a round thin crust that has some crispness to it, but not so much that it cannot be folded up.

My archetype is Lenny's Pizza on 16th St. and 5th Ave. in Brooklyn.

John Sconzo, M.D. aka "docsconz"

"Remember that a very good sardine is always preferable to a not that good lobster."

- Ferran Adria on eGullet 12/16/2004.

Docsconz - Musings on Food and Life

Slow Food Saratoga Region - Co-Founder

Twitter - @docsconz

If you eat a thin crust pizza,