• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Roasted chicken breast with bacon and cheese

Josh71

I just watched this Aussie Chicken recipe :

https://youtu.be/yHnWgiQDKcc

Basically, it's roasted chicken breast with bacon, sautéed mushrooms, honey mustard sauce and topped crispy cheese.

But I am thinking of better method instead of guessing the roasting time. I have never done this before and I don't like overcooked roast chicken breast.

Ok, sous vide would help.

Here is my idea of better method :

Sous vide chicken breast together with few pieces of bacon at 150F (65C) for 1 hour.

Then sear with oil and a bit of butter to brown it.

And finally, arrange it in baking tray.

"Glaze" with the honey mustard sauce.

Put some sautéed mushrooms, topped with cheese. Broil it under very hot oven (240C) "just" to melt the cheese.

Serve with more honey mustard sauce and crispy bacon.

Sounds good?

My concern is with the last broiling step, if that will dry up the seared chicken breast. But I don't have any other ideas.

I can't comment on the sous vide time and temperature, but here's my thought: if you're worried about overcooking the meat during the cheese-melting stage (and I think I would be), try cooking the meat just a little less: until it's almost done, but not quite, and let the chicken finish cooking while the cheese is melting. What do you think?

Nancy Smith, aka "Smithy"
HosteG Forumsnsmith@egstaff.org

Follow us on social media! Facebook; instagram.com/egulletx; twitter.com/egullet

"Every day should be filled with something delicious, because life is too short not to spoil yourself. " -- Ling (with permission)