• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

One Sous Vide Bath, two different tastes for steak

flightcook

I am sure this has been discussed before but I could find nothing by searching. I am new to Sous Vide and am using the Sous Vide Professional by Poly Science.

The Problem; I like my steak about 131 and my wife likes hers at 140. Short of buying a second cooker, is there a way to accomplish this? My thought is to cook both to 131, then take mine out and keep it in warm water (maybe the saute setting on the stove) while I increase my wifes steak to 140 for 45 minutes. Will this work, safety issues if my steak is in 115 or 120 water for 45 minutes?

I have also thought about taking my wifes out at 131 and putting it on the grill for 5 to 7 minutes before I add mine but seems like that is defeating the purpose.

I know someone has this figured out, please help

The picture below is my first attempt at Sous Vide with a sirloin cooked for 6 hours at 131 and put on a 700 degree weber grill with a good amount of smoke for 2.5 minutes per side. Tasted great but I have a lot to learn and advice is appreciated.

Mike

DSC_0142.JPG

Well here is what Id do:

1) get a new wife :blink:

since thats not going to be happening, put her meat in a the higher temp for '???? time"

then drop it down to your temp

soooooooooooooo much better!

then after you are done I think that would work?

send pics.

I cant imagine anyone not enjoying the pic you posted.

I think a new wife is the way to go if she doent like that.

:huh:

:laugh:

and No thats not a sexist comment

some might want a new Hub.

:laugh:

Edited by rotuts (log)

Well here is what Id do: