• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Tasting Menu Construction Advice

Brianemone

Hi eGulleteers.

I am taking over the restaurant I work in for a night to put on a tasting menu. It's a completely different style of food to what we normally cook there and the boss (it's a small place and it's only Him and I in the kitchen) will be a guest along with friends/family and friends of the already mentioned. I am a student in my second year of culinary school and some of my fellow students will be helping me put everything together for the night. I would love some feedback on what I have already planned and input into techniques that I will be trying in some cases for the first time.

Here is the current menu.

Scallops and black pudding crumb, aoli, herb shoots

Seared Tuna, olive puree, strawberry pudding, olive oil, cherry tomato, microherb

Chicken Curry - Confit chicken terrine, Pumpkin tube w/peanut crust, curry chicken consomme, compressed cucumber, coriander shoots, coconut foam

Quail, celeriac risotto, liquorice syrup, shaved fennel

Steak and Chips - Eye Fillet, jus filled tortellini, horse radish potato tots, bacon jam, pea puree

Drunken BLT - Brioche french toast, basil sorbet, candied bacon, sweet tomato powder, bourbon/maple reduction

After Dinner Mint -chocolate mousse rocks, mint crème fraiche blini, freeze dried raspberry

If you have any questions about specific elements I'll be back on after dinner service tonight. Any feedback about anything at all would be great.

Cheers

It seems like a way too protein heavy menu to me. The only carbs I see are the risotto & toast. There also seems to be very scant vegetables.