• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Cream cheese: Uses, brands, tips

yellowmnm81

hello! i'm emily... i'm new to egullet but have had fun reading all the posts. i love baking and pastry.. i'm sure all of you do heh. :raz:

the reason why i am posting is because i have a bake sale coming up for church and i wanted to know what are usually good things to make for one? and i also was hoping that it could include cream cheese somehow.. i got some a while back to make something but i ended up not so now i have a lot of cream cheese sitting in my refrigerator that needs to be used up :sad: sooo.. if there are any suggestions/recipes.. that would be fantastic.. thanks!! :biggrin:

follow my food adventures as

the sweet gourmand

Welcome yellowmnm81!

The obvious thing that comes to mind is cheesecake - but I'm sure you've thought of that already. You could do carrot cake with cream cheese frosting, or I'm sure there are bar cookie recipes out there that use it too. What do you like to make - cakes, cookies, pies, tarts? Are you thinking large, multiple serving items, or small individual things?

You might also want to check out this previous thread discussing options for a "baked goods stall": click.

Welcome. Long story I'll try to make short. My mother participated in a bake sale for years. Actually she baked all the items with no other particapants. My mother is a professional chef/pastry chef so she had alot of experience and ideas to bring to this type of event. Sister and I would help lug stuff for her.