• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Bob's Red Mill Corn Meal

Shel_B

I remember using Bob's Fine Grind corn meal. I can no longer find locally or online. Bob does show a corn flour. Might this be substituted for fine corn meal, or is it essentially just fine corn meal?  There are other acceptable options that I can use, but my preference is to stay with Bob's in this case if possible.

... Shel

I'm no expert, but would guess that the flour is not going to give you the desired results. It probably depends on how you intend to use it. but when mixed with liquid, it is going to be muddy rather than give you a more dough-like result that corn meal would give you. Again, I'm no expert.

• Thanks 1

Deb

Liberty, MO

1 hour ago, Maison Rustique said:

I'm no expert, but would guess that the flour is not going to give you the desired results. It probably depends on how you intend to use it. but when mixed with liquid, it is going to be muddy rather than give you a more dough-like result that corn meal would give you. Again, I'm no expert.

Frankly, that was my suspicion, but I was hoping that there was just a new name for the old product. Damn.

... Shel

10 minutes ago, donk79 said:

@Shel_B I have Wade's Mill down the road from me.  Any chance you have something similar nearby?

Not a chance.  As noted in my original post, there are other options available to me. Thanks for the link ... might come in handy some day.

... Shel

1 hour ago, Katie Meadow said: