• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Food on Internet turns 25

MaxH

A notice on the original public forum (still active) is Here.

I've observed in that 25-year interval that when people come on to the Internet (or write about it from outside, as in the American Scholar article cited in the message), their attention is more on what's novel than on traditions. But sometimes those are worth noticing, especially on a milestone like this.

Bon appétit! -- Max

interesting link. it got me wondering what/when most people's first connection with food on the internet occurred. my own came when i was an editor for prodigy (well, for the lat, but working part-time on a prodigy project). we'd hook up chefs and cookbook writers to do some short pieces and then answer questions from readers. i think this was in '88 or '89. had folks like wolfgang puck, marion cunningham, paul prudhomme. some good questions, mostly not. i remember one guy asked michael roberts for the recipe for the bob's big boy fudge cake (he complied with a molten center chocolate cake).

i was also pretty active on a group called "chefs and cooks on hte internet" that was more of a listserve. this would have been about '90, i think.

i was an editor for prodigy (well, for the lat, but working part-time on a prodigy project).  ...  i was also pretty active on a group called "chefs and cooks on hte internet" that was more of a listserve. this would have been about '90, i think.