• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Soy Sauce mash fermented for a year ... safe?

Johntodd

Hi! When I was reading an old logbook, I came across an entry for me making a soy sauce mash. That entry was 12-November-2012. I had forgotten the mash was even there.

Well, I found it. It is black and fully "mashed". Is it still safe to make into soy sauce?

It has been sealed in ziploc bags the whole time. I doubt any air has gotten to it. Perhaps I should boil it for a while before letting it go to the next step?

Thanks!

-Johntodd

I am not an expert, but that never stops me!

First, I'd think about asking a more specialized forum, perhaps like the one at wild fermentation.com, especially on the issue of safety.

Second, as I understand things, boiling it will kill the bacteria that make it safe -if indeed it is safe - and afterward you'd have to use sterization techniques for canning and so on.

Good luck!

Do you mind sharing how you made the mash? As I understand, making soy sauce is the same as making miso. I like (high quality) miso, and entertained making it myself.

The thing is that, if you did things correctly, there seems to be no indication of a safety issue in your case. A taste issue maybe, but that is different. A couple of sources mention a post pasteurization if it makes one feel better, but as I said before this seems like it would kill all the good guys.

I am curious how you set it up. Did you use koji? Or did you let bean cakes mold as some recipes call for? I am interested because I'd prefer not to use store bought koji, and I like to use nontraditional beans and spicing. A Mexican miso perhaps... Heresy, I know!