• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

How do I become a better confectioner and chocolatier

jrshaul

A friend of mine is due to receive the reigns of the family bakery in a few years. He's looking to move away from making dinner rolls towards producing for resale, and perhaps move towards a more luxuriant part of the market.

I'm a longtime hobbyist with a little experience mucking about with chocolates. One of my greater successes was the time I brought ten pounds of truffles to a local event, just to see if I could. They seem to have attracted his interest - especially the vegan truffles, which went over spectacularly and have a lot of commercial appeal.

He's looking for someone to help with product development and marketing. I'm going to be spending most of my time running a dog-and-pony show at bridal expos, but getting some workable prototypes is going to require rapidly improving my chops.

Where do I start?