• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Commis Chef Help.....

Richard,

Just wondering what sort of programme you have set in your kitchen?

I'm a 19 year old Englishman who unexpectedly found his true love and passion in the Kitchen. I ve been working full time at a local seafood restuarant for the last 2 years, and although I can do all stations and feel confident, I'm still known as a commis chef as I have no experience in other kitchens. How many commis' do you have on at one time? Do you personally work with them or let your Chef de Parties do that? Have you ever been to England, if so what do you think about the catering and cusine over here?

P.S Any chance of giving me some work experience!?!!!

I went into a French restaraunt and asked the waiter, 'Have you got frog's legs?' He said, 'Yes,' so I said, 'Well hop into the kitchen and get me a cheese sandwich.'

Tommy Cooper

Richard,

Just wondering what sort of programme you have set in your kitchen?

I'm a 19 year old Englishman who unexpectedly found his true love and passion in the Kitchen. I ve been working full time at a local seafood restuarant for the last 2 years, and although I can do all stations and feel confident, I'm still known as a commis chef as I have no experience in other kitchens. How many commis' do you have on at one time? Do you personally work with them or let your Chef de Parties do that? Have you ever been to England, if so what do you think about the catering and cusine over here?

P.S Any chance of giving me some work experience!?!!!