• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Spaghetti squash

Mistinguett

It's my first attempt to cook spaghetti squash, and I have a feeling that I'll like it. However, my husband behaved like a 5 year old when his eyes fell on the yellow beauty, and his question was:"what are you going to do with that?"

So, I need your advice. Microwave or baked? Does it really make a difference in taste?

And after making the "spaghetti", what? I need some idea as I really want my husband to like it (yes, I'm trying really hard to make him eat his veggies).

The human mouth is called a pie hole. The human being is called a couch potato... They drive the food, they wear the food... That keeps the food hot, that keeps the food cold. That is the altar where they worship the food, that's what they eat when they've eaten too much food, that gets rid of the guilt triggered by eating more food. Food, food, food... Over the Hedge

My usual approach is to nuke the thing (after poking some holes so it doesn't explode) to soften it enough to chop in half without maiming myself. Then I have been known to cut it in half and put it in the oven. However, I have also nuked it to a stage of doneness that I was ready to deal with. Then, after I have teased out the "spaghetti" I continue on with saucing, buttering, or whatever. Actually, my favorite way to serve it is with lots of butter, s&p. I don't think that the baking ever added anythng significant so I have been nuking it ever since. Sauteing after that point is a whole 'nother thing and has a lot of possibilities.

Linda LaRose aka "fifi"