• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

NEWBIE needs help with cookware for registry...

by350

I am an aspiring chef and looking to add some nice cookware to our wedding registry. I have been looking at the Calphalon Commercial hard-anodized set, as well as the AllClad stuff. I'd love to have the AllClad, but it seems to be a bit too pricey.

What do you all recommend? If I go with the Calphalon Commercial hard-anodized set...am I making a good choice? I also like that I can find plenty of pieces on sale at Amazon.

Thanks for any advice!

Welcome. Where are you registered? That will limit your choices, and thus the scope of what we'd recommend.

Steven A. Shaw aka "Fat Guy"
Co-founder, Society for Culinary Arts & Letters, sshaw@egstaff.org
Proud signatory to the eG Ethics code
Director, New Media Studies, International Culinary Center (take my food-blogging course)

Hi, MatthewB...yes I have read that thread...thanks!

I am registering at Macy's. They offer Calphalon, AllClad, Circulon, Anolon, and a few other lines. I'd really like to stick with a Calphalon or AllClad product, but I'm open to suggestions.

ALSO...I do NOT want nonstick cookware, correct?

I am an aspiring chef and

Should I assume you're headed towards a professional career cooking in a restaurant as in chef = chief of the kitchen brigade, or do you just see "chef" as term synonymous to good cook? I ask relative to a recent thread, "Chef" -- Who is? Who ain't? It's an important question as we have many culinary students and professionals here on eGullet.