• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Howdy!

Hi everyone!

My name is Emma and I am a beginner cook from Ontario, Canada. I plan on attending college next year for an undergraduate degree in food studies and am interested in the social sciences behind food. Still, I have started my passions through cooking and baking and will spend most of my free time researching or making things using new techniques or recipes.

I am my high school's competitor for Skills Ontario again this year, so I am looking for all the culinary advice I can get! I'm looking forward to meeting new people here and learning new things!

• Like 1

(she/her)

Greetings from someone else who lives in Ontario.  There are lots of us in Ontario and soon you will meet more.  Good luck in your studies.

• Like 1

Darienne

learn, learn, learn...

We live in hope. 

39 minutes ago, Darienne said:

Greetings from someone else who lives in Ontario.  There are lots of us in Ontario and soon you will meet more.  Good luck in your studies.

Thank you so much! I'm glad to be here.

(she/her)

1 hour ago, ElsieD said:

Hi @alewifee from a fellow Canadian.  I think you'll like it here.  Whereabouts in Ontario are you?  As you can see, I'm in Ottawa.

I'm from Fergus, which is just north of Guelph. Major food scene in nearby village Elora because of the mill. Also, its where Anita Stewart is from.

• Like 2

(she/her)

2 hours ago, TdeV said:

Hello @alewifee. What will you do as a competitor for Skills Ontario? You'll find many friendly folk here on eG. Welcome.