Jump to content
  • Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Cheese and Vegetarianism


Recommended Posts

On 7/4/2022 at 12:49 AM, cdh said:

The most jarringly weird sandwich I ever had was in the UK-  Very buttered bread with cheddar and branston pickle. 

I might love that!   During the vegetarian period I spent in the UK, ploughman's lunch was my pub order.     You see, you need the butter to cut the strong cheddar and pickle to brighten both.    Yes, I could do that!

  • Like 1

eGullet member #80.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, Margaret Pilgrim said:

I might love that!   During the vegetarian period I spent in the UK, ploughman's lunch was my pub order.     You see, you need the butter to cut the strong cheddar and pickle to brighten both.    Yes, I could do that!

 

Ploughman's lunches are rarely vegetarian! Thank heavens! Cheddar cheese is rarely vegetarian. Ploughmen certainly aren't!

...your dancing child with his Chinese suit.

 

A terrible thing is ignorance, the source of endless human woes, spreading a mist over facts, obscuring truth, and casting a gloom upon the individual life. - Lucian of Samosata (born 120, died after 180 CE)

 

The Kitchen Scale Manifesto

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, liuzhou said:

 

Ploughman's lunches are rarely vegetarian! Thank heavens! Cheddar cheese is rarely vegetarian. Ploughmen certainly aren't!

Rough bread, strong Cheddar and a pickle that Americans would more likely akin to chutney all fall within the ordinary lacto-ova veg regime.   But, certainly  they are not vegan.

  • Like 1

eGullet member #80.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 minutes ago, Margaret Pilgrim said:

Rough bread, strong Cheddar and a pickle that Americans would more likely akin to chutney all fall within the ordinary lacto-ova veg regime.   But, certainly  they are not vegan.

 

Nor is cheddar usually vegetarian. It uses animal rennet. The scrapings of animals' stomachs. Neither vegetarian or vegan!

...your dancing child with his Chinese suit.

 

A terrible thing is ignorance, the source of endless human woes, spreading a mist over facts, obscuring truth, and casting a gloom upon the individual life. - Lucian of Samosata (born 120, died after 180 CE)

 

The Kitchen Scale Manifesto

Link to comment
Share on other sites

6 minutes ago, liuzhou said:

 

Nor is cheddar usually vegetarian. It uses animal rennet. The scrapings of animals' stomachs. Neither vegetarian or vegan!

And there's milk too

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just now, gfweb said:

And there's milk too

 

Well, milk is vegetarian, but not vegan.

...your dancing child with his Chinese suit.

 

A terrible thing is ignorance, the source of endless human woes, spreading a mist over facts, obscuring truth, and casting a gloom upon the individual life. - Lucian of Samosata (born 120, died after 180 CE)

 

The Kitchen Scale Manifesto

Link to comment
Share on other sites

10 minutes ago, Margaret Pilgrim said:

Technically correct.    Cheese is usually allowed a lacto-ovo veg.    

 

Technically correct just means correct.

 

None of the vegetarians I know (sad people) eat cheese unless they know it is truly vegetarian. 99% isn't. 

...your dancing child with his Chinese suit.

 

A terrible thing is ignorance, the source of endless human woes, spreading a mist over facts, obscuring truth, and casting a gloom upon the individual life. - Lucian of Samosata (born 120, died after 180 CE)

 

The Kitchen Scale Manifesto

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Well, you can re-define 'vegetarian' any way you choose, but for most it means abstaining from foods which involve products from dead animals. Most cheese does involve such products. Not that I mind!

...your dancing child with his Chinese suit.

 

A terrible thing is ignorance, the source of endless human woes, spreading a mist over facts, obscuring truth, and casting a gloom upon the individual life. - Lucian of Samosata (born 120, died after 180 CE)

 

The Kitchen Scale Manifesto

Link to comment
Share on other sites

29 minutes ago, liuzhou said:

 

Technically correct just means correct.

 

None of the vegetarians I know (sad people) eat cheese unless they know it is truly vegetarian. 99% isn't. 

 

6 minutes ago, liuzhou said:

Well, you can re-define 'vegetarian' any way you choose, but for most it means abstaining from foods which involve products from dead animals. Most cheese does involve such products. Not that I mind!

 

"None that I know" and "most" does not equal all.   

 

Edited by Margaret Pilgrim (log)

eGullet member #80.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 minutes ago, Margaret Pilgrim said:

 

 

"None that I know" and "most" does not equal all.   

 

 

Well, I'll file that with the self-proclaimed vegetarians who eat fish or even chicken.

 

Vegetarians or vegetables?

...your dancing child with his Chinese suit.

 

A terrible thing is ignorance, the source of endless human woes, spreading a mist over facts, obscuring truth, and casting a gloom upon the individual life. - Lucian of Samosata (born 120, died after 180 CE)

 

The Kitchen Scale Manifesto

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 7/3/2022 at 5:00 PM, liuzhou said:

Well, you can re-define 'vegetarian' any way you choose, but for most it means abstaining from foods which involve products from dead animals. Most cheese does involve such products. Not that I mind!


“Most cheese” may depend on where you live. Artisanal European cheeses with DOP or similar designations are generally still produced with animal rennet but the majority of cheeses produced in the US and UK now use a microbial rennet or laboratory-produced chymosin. I know nothing of Chinese cheeses. 
I read (here, though I have not verified elsewhere)that the switch to laboratory-produced enzymes was in part due to the decline in veal consumption which drove up the price of calf rennet, the most common type, and provided more impetus to develop non-animal options. I was aware of this but didn’t realize how widespread their use had become. 
Here's a link to a list of vegetarian-friendly cheeses.  Lots to choose from though none from China!


 

 

 

Edited by blue_dolphin
To add chymosin (log)
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 year later...

When animal rennet is used to make cheese, is it only used to curdle the milk and then gets washed off or does it "enter" the milk itself and remain in the curd.  Is it not vegetarian because it has been used to produce the cheese or because the cheese contains the animal rennet?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 7/6/2022 at 1:39 AM, blue_dolphin said:

Lots to choose from though none from China!

 

Now that this topic has been revived can I just say that I wasn't talking about Chinese cheese. There is very little of that and the little there is doesn't use rennet.

 

2 hours ago, Susanwusan said:

When animal rennet is used to make cheese, is it only used to curdle the milk and then gets washed off or does it "enter" the milk itself and remain in the curd.  Is it not vegetarian because it has been used to produce the cheese or because the cheese contains the animal rennet?

 

i'm told it remains by my sister who makes cheese in England.

 

 

  • Thanks 2

...your dancing child with his Chinese suit.

 

A terrible thing is ignorance, the source of endless human woes, spreading a mist over facts, obscuring truth, and casting a gloom upon the individual life. - Lucian of Samosata (born 120, died after 180 CE)

 

The Kitchen Scale Manifesto

Link to comment
Share on other sites

22 hours ago, Susanwusan said:

When animal rennet is used to make cheese, is it only used to curdle the milk and then gets washed off or does it "enter" the milk itself and remain in the curd.  Is it not vegetarian because it has been used to produce the cheese or because the cheese contains the animal rennet?

 

Rennet essentially remains in the whey so it is present in very limited amounts in the final cheese, but it is enough to generate concerns for those who don't want to enjoy dead animal products in their food. That's why it makes rennet-made cheese "not vegan" or "not vegetarian", but it is ok for "flexi..." or whatever terminology is correct to define those who does not negate all animal based products the right to be digested inside their stomachs (I often got lost, in case of doubt and need, I would directly ask regarding the product as much specific as I can )

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The vegetarians I know eat cheese (and wear leather, but not fur). I suspect that this is because originally, they were unaware of the rennet element, and if and when they did find out about it, they figured they may as well go on eating cheese. This is just my hypothesis: I've never asked! The vegetarians I know best (including everyone else in my immediate family, lifetime vegetarians) are neither intrusive nor political about it, so I've seen no point in bothering them about this.

  • Like 5

Michaela, aka "Mjx"
Manager, eG Forums
mscioscia@egstaff.org

Link to comment
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...