• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

What do you do?

hosinmigs

I'm sure this has been done before, but I'm having a hard time using the search function....

Anywho, wondering if folks would mind briefly describing what they do (if professional pastry-related) for those of us curious about various aspects of the industry.

I'm also particularly interested in the shift. As a future student, I'm interested in working mornings, but I'm thinking that may completely cut out restaurants. Any truth to my thoughts?

Hopefully this isn't repost hell for anyone.

Edited by hosinmigs (log)

“There is no sincerer love than the love of food.”

I know there are threads like this, but I'll be darned if I know how to search for them. For future reference though, with a title like the one you've given this topic, nobody is ever going to be able to find it again. It is a bit vague! :raz:

I attended culinary school in San Francisco. I worked in San Francisco restaurants for four years and then took a little time off. When I was ready to work again, I moved to New York City and worked there for four years in several restaurants. Most of my experience is in "fine dining" type restaurants. I'm now back in California and I'm not working in restaurants anymore. I'm an instructor at a culinary school where I teach baking and pastry basics to students who are studying culinary arts (the full "cooking" program, not just baking and pastry).