• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Tapas Bar Libations

battlepanda

I still can't believe it...I've just taken a job to be a bartender at a Tapas restaurant in Taipei. I've never worked a day in the food industry before. Eep!

Any good ideas out there for spanish-themed cocktails? They probably have Sangria already, but if anyone have a good "gold standard" recipe, I'd love to see it.

Order some good sherry - a lot. Make sure some are expensive so you earn some street credit and ensure decent tips.

Get some good shoes - you'll need them.

It'll be fun - looking forward to your success. :smile:

"I took the habit of asking Pierre to bring me whatever looks good today and he would bring out the most wonderful things," - bleudauvergne

foodblogs: Dining Downeast I - Dining Downeast II

Portland Food Map.com

I think "eep!" is "eep!" whereever you go. Though the Taiwanese also uses "Aiya!" for good measure.

I just opened the attachment the owner sent me of the drinks menu..."Marqueritas", "wodka -- tonic"...no sangria, no sherry. I've got my work cut out ahead of me. Their menu selections are quite sorry too...we're talking "spanish-style fried rice" "parma-ham plate" "beef in tomato sauce...clams in tomato sauce...shrimp in tomato sauce...squid in tomato sauce..." No wonder the owner complains that the place is barely breaking even! She's had to put money into the restaurant from her day job in recent months too :(