• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Engaging all the senses . . .

Rebel Rose

I think most of us have noticed that strong odors interfere with our ability to evaluate and even enjoy wine, but I have also found that noise and music interfere with my ability to concentrate on the nuances of wine. For instance, at a wine festival or tasting where the crowds are tight and there is live music--it's really difficult for me to detect nuances. I really think drinking wine, or at least appreciating it deeply, is a whole body experience. :wink:

Anyone else notice this?

Mary Baker

Solid Communications

Find me on Facebook

Not me, and since I'm a professional musician, supposed background music that's playing really softly on the sound system can distract me. But it's really interesting noise has that effect on you. Does noise also affect your ability to detect nuances in food?

Michael aka "Pan"

I don't know. Now you've made me wonder and I'll start paying more attention. :blink:

Soft background music would be enjoyable, but loud or raucous music and juju lyrics annoy me when I'm trying to taste a wine. I think it just rattles my head.

Let me see, the five senses are sight, sound, smell, taste and feel. We judge the appearance of a wine, smell it, taste it, and we 'feel' certain characteristics, like the astringency of tannin, or the hot sensation of high alcohol, the glycerin thickness of a full-bodied wine, and certainly a wine's temperature. And of course, my own degree of thirst and body temperature affects my perception of a wine. So I was just wondering if anyone else ever thought about noise.