• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

My first chicken roast (and post!)

CurlySue

Hello everyone,

New here and decided it was time to make my first post. I've been reading for weeks and must admit I'm in awe at the knowledge here. I'm a baker at heart, non-professional home baker of wedding cakes and the sort, but have taken a sudden interest in the rest of the cooking world in addition to developing a serious obsession with chocolate.

I roasted my first chicken last night. 35 years old and never roasted a whole chicken before. Hell, never roasted much of anything other than marshmallows. I read as much as I could on the subject of roasting a chicken and settled on starting simple. I stuffed the little guy with a lemon and some fresh thyme, then liberally seasoned and buttered under and over his skin (something I never would have done without reading it here first).

I cooked him at 425 for about 20 minutes and opened the over door to find him very nicely tanned. I was on my way. I lowered the oven temp to 375 and cooked him about another hour and 15 minutes, basting occasionally with a stock/butter/lemon mix.

I put him on the counter to rest and proceeded to deglaze the pan (my God, did I just say that?) with some white wine then added some stock and moved it to a saucepan to simmer a while. Admittedly I didn't really know what to do with this concoction, but it was good drizzled over the chicken after it was carved.

All in all I'd say it was pretty damn good, my husband agreed.