• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Alarms and Fires and BOOMS! Oh MY!

Pickles

As a personal chef, I have heard of MANY disasters from my colleagues...accidentally setting fire to client kitchens/stoves, :sad: setting off fire/smoke alarms in the house and having a yard loaded with firefighters within seconds. :sad: ...talk about embarassing...as well as scary. So talk about the worst mess you ever got yourself into. And how you saved your kitchen...or didn't! I recommend the portable fire extinguisher, BTW..for us PC's and a regular one in every home kitchen. No matter how annoying that smoke alarm is when it goes off while you're broiling lamb chops--and you rip out the batteries!...remember to re-instate it when you're finished. :wink: I did a search for this topic and didn't see anything..so forgive if this is being discussed already.

Edited by Pickles (log)

It;s not such a big deal in retrospect, but the first time I had a pot full of oil catch fire in my tint 5thg stiry walk-up the first and only thing I could think to do was hold the pot out the window so that it wouldn't set off the fire alarm.

Halon? Can someone enlighten me? Thanks!

"I'm not eating it...my tongue is just looking at it!" --My then-3.5 year-old niece, who was NOT eating a piece of gum

"Wow--this is a fancy restaurant! They keep bringing us more water and we didn't even ask for it!" --My 5.75 year-old niece, about Bread Bar

"He's jumped the flounder, as you might say."