• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Charlotte, NC Restaurants

corinnesweeney

Welcome, Corinne. Charlotte is a jumping town for food. I answered a reply like this one a few months back that you could probably locate if you use a search. And since I'm a food writer at the local paper, it's not really fair of me to weigh in on the pros/cons of different places. But I can certainly give you a primer:

Uptown (it's called uptown here, not downtown): Mimosa Grill, chef'ed by Tom Condron (Upstream, also chef'ed by Tom, has gotten some national coverage); Sonoma Grill, where Tim Groody specializes in California-style with great locally grown produce; Mert's Heart and Soul is a little funky/a little uptown; Aquavina, new, very hot and on a great location next to a beautiful new park; Bijoux for upscale French (great zinc bar, upstairs seafood bar); Mortons/Capitol Grill/Bistro 100 for upscale chains. For slightly funkier at lunch, look for Tic-Toc Diner, Gus's Sir Beef in the Latta Arcade and a few blocks toward the edge, the remade Presto Grille. For brewery/bistro with good food, Ri-Ra (check out the facade on the Transamerica Plaza) and Red Rocks. Also look for Carpe Diem.

Kathleen Purvis, food editor, The Charlotte (NC) Observer

• 1 month later...

As I posted on another thread, I am heading to Charlotte next week with my 1-year-old. These look like great suggestions, Kathi - are any of them kid-friendly? I don't need a kid's menu (I don't feed my kids that stuff) but a high chair and no dirty looks would be a plus. :smile:

Heather Johnson

In Good Thyme