• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Menu Creation and the Perfect Meal

A Scottish Chef

In my thirst to develop as a Chef I often think about my weaknesses and how I might best improve them. Currently on my mind is menu creation and how to create a fine meal.

I have looked over the dinner thread on egullet with a great sense of envy at the knowledge displayed, but I just don't know where to start learning this skill well. I don't want to be ok at it, I'd like to be excellent. I can refer to books and take ideas from there, but I'll be honest and confess I don't really know why the Chef sets the meal out in the way he chooses.

If I had a beef dish for the main course, what would be an ideal starter? Would the choice of vegetables with the main course be influenced by the starter and what would follow? What about pudding? And why/when would I call it dessert or sweet if at all? If I had a hot starter, how would that impact on my choice of main course? Should it at all? As for wine, I know nothing. Again, I'm desperate to learn how and why wines are chosen for courses.

At home, when cooking for friends or family, I usually go with what I can do well or what people will enjoy most. I think thats a good idea in itself, but not even once can I say with confidence that I have planned a meal so the whole dining experience flows from start to finish.

My ambition currently would be to learn how and why a three course meal would work well.

I would happily take on board any advice offered about books that would help me as well.