• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Smooth hazelnut butter?

Martin Baadsgaard

First off, sorry if this should have been under pastry and baking.

Was just thinking since it is about making it, and not using it, this would be the place.

When making hazelnut butter, it always comes out grainy for me.

The same goes for the organic type you can buy for insane prices around here.

If I do not have a nut grinder/mill that can do this super fine smooth butter, is there any other way of doing it?

And if not, I have an idea or two, that I would like to hear if anyone has an opinion on before I try them out,

since nuts are expensive, and I'm just a hobbyist, who is also a student on low income.

I am thinking that the graininess comes from wood-like cellwall-reinforcements, which would be bound by mainly pectins and hemicelluloses.

So I was thinking of grinding them roughly, and boiling them in slightly alkaline water, to soften this up, like with vegetables.

Or, treating them with pectinase.

Then rinse and roast in oven untill golden, and blend till smooth.

Only problem is that the nut is mainly fat. I was thinking that that would probably, mostly, stay within the nuts, and not leak out, thus also keeping the flavor.

But I guess it would also limit the dissolving of pectins and hemicellulose, or the the activity of the pectinase, to the surface of the nut pieces.

So, what are people's gut feelings and/or obvious answers to this idea?

Try steaming the hazelnuts rather than boiling them directly in water.

Steam them first for about 10-15 minutes and then spread them on a sheet pan in the oven - 275° F. for about 20 - 30 minutes.