• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

LN2 Cooled Drinks

Lisa Shock

I'm doing a demo with liquid nitrogen tonight, and have been asked at the last minute to make some basic cocktails to be served frozen. I could really use everyone's help here to make it a success!

I have read The Liquid Nitrogen Primer in Cooking Issues. I have 16 years of experience handling liquid nitrogen. I have safety equipment and a PhD level chemist who works in a cryogenic lab as an assistant. I just need a few tips on drink making with it, which I have never done.

I have been specifically asked to make frozen drinks. I won't have a full bar, just the alcohol I bring, so it will be a very limited menu. I am thinking of a doing Manhattans, Brambles, and gin & tonics. My question is, are drinks (as illustrated in the Primer) just frozen in the glass? Or, are they frozen in a bowl, then scooped into the glass?

I need a basic procedural. Would it be: make pitcher of Manhattans, pour LN2 into bowl, stir, scoop into glasses? Or: make pitcher of Manhattans, pour LN2 into glass, pour Manhattan into glass, stir?

And, has anyone here frozen a carbonated beverage with LN2? I've been working on variations of a frozen G&T for years, but not with LN2. At my house, when I make shave-ice and pour tonic over it, the tonic foams up rapidly and voluminously. (less so if the ice being shaven is itself made from tonic water) How much can I expect in terms of expansion with LN2 - should I make one drink in a 5 quart bowl? And, if so, what's the best type of bowl to use?