• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

juice/smoothie bar/wheatgrass

Fuel Juice Bar

Hello All--this is my first post on egullet---read about this forum in Saveur this morning---what a great resource! I will try and keep future posts short--but I figure a bit of background is necessary up front--so here goes--

For years I have been encouraged by friends to do some sort of professional culinary-related business. I finally decided to take the plunge and open a smoothie/juice bar in the San Diego area. It seemed like the simplest way to venture into the restaurant/food service industry.

I am a pretty experienced home cook, comfortable with advanced culinary techniques and exotic cuisines. I have catered weddings for 150 and supervised fund-raiser dinners for 500 + . Have lived in both Europe and Asia and have traveled extensively. I am also a locally published writer/journalist (over 500 articles in print) Restaurant reviews and food stories are easily some of my favorite assignments...(see this recent story about a local chocolatier--he makes great stuff! http://www.imperialbeachnewsca.com/article...news/news01.txt ) My writing is on hold until we get the shop open.