• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Faucets

birder53

He wants the separate spray. I want the pull down. He thinks the pull down will dangle and break. What has your experience been and which would you recommend?

I like the clean look of the pull downs. The sink will also have a soap dispenser and air gap, so the pull down will reduce the cluttered look. I've never used one before, so I'm wondering how you like yours and would you buy it again.

Thanks!

KathyM

I wanted a pull-down forever but couldn't justify it as we had just bought the house new and couldn't afford to make such a change. Last summer while we were away for a few days, my daughter and son-in-law were house-sitting and when we returned they had installed a pull-down. :smile:

I am totally thrilled with it! I have had the separate spray in the past and find this one much more useful and much less awkward to use. I don't find any problem with it dangling. It slips back so easily and looks so out of place if it's not replaced.

There was only one downside to their installation - they installed the soap dispenser over the right sink and I wash dishes in the left sink! :sad:

But it holds a supply of hand soap and is still nice to use.

Anna Nielsen aka "Anna N"

...I just let people know about something I made for supper that they might enjoy, too. That's all it is. (Nigel Slater)

"Cooking is about doing the best with what you have . . . and succeeding." John Thorne

Our 2012 (Kerry Beal and me) Blog

My 2004 eG Blog

I have three kitchen faucets.

One of these kitchen faucet

Which has seen a lot of use at the regular sink for three years.