• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

cafe de laos

chowfun

I apologize in advance if there is a already a long discussion somewhere in this forum about Cafe de Laos in South Philadelphia at 11th and Washington, but my attempt to use the search function failed. I ended up with a listing of every topic Herb Lau participated in!

We ate at Cafe de Laos last night. The food was fantastic. I am a total novice at Laotian food, it was the very first time I had tried it, but I can say that it was very fresh and well prepared food with bright flavors, and each dish had a distinct seasoning of its own and a nice presentation. There is an expansive menu with a section for Laotian food, Thai food, the "Thai-Laos relationship bridge" and a full vegetarian menu. We ordered from the Laotian section and the Thai-Laos section. They have a list of 6 different papaya salads (my kind of place!) We had the Som Tum Thai, papaya salad with haricot verts, carrot, peanut, dried shrimp and tomatoes, very spicy and very good. We asked our waiter what type of utensils people use to eat Laotian food, and he said that they make a ball of sticky rice in their fingers and scoop up the food with the rice ball. No one at our table did that, but we did order sticky rice to go with our food and it complemented the food quite well. It was served in its own steamer basket with a lid. We had the Labb Woonsen, a glass noodle salad with pork, dried chili,lime, mint, shallot, and fresh cilantro. It was very good and it was served on lettuce leaves. We had stuffed eggplant with a red curry sauce. This was an impressive dish of two perfectly cooked purple eggplants stuffed with glass no