• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

World Pastry Forum 2005

While I am new to the EG board (don't know why except being too busy to join before this), I know some of you are probably also in Phoenix for this event.

It was a good first day. My first class was with Jean-Pierre Wybauw on chocolate candies. For the first half hour he asked us all to dispel what we had learned about tempering chocolate and to think about it in a new way. He was fascinating, charming and extremely informative. I finally got a chance to really browse his book. I've never seen a book about chocolate with so much technical information presented in such an easy to read and devour format. And despite its price ($80), knew I just had to have it. Having it inscribed by him was lovely.

My second class was with En-Ming Hsu on chocolate amenities. Having worked in a resort envioronment, this was near and dear to my heart. Her enthusiasm for the subject, her superb presentations and her delightful personality made it a truly great session. She's incredibly creative and hope she shares her talent through many books.

What classes did anyone else attending take today, and what were your impressions?

You tell us that Wybauw had you clear your head of all you knew about chocolate tempering to think about it in a new way - so - what is this new way? what did he put inside the space in your head about chocolate that he had made you clear out?

Inquiring minds want to know?