• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Should I bother saving

aswag74

As I am just starting out with the wine thing......

Is it only worth saving wines to age if they are...well....expensive?

We generally go to the wine store, pick something for dinner (10-15$), bring it home and pop it open. But, if there's something in this price range that we like, is it worth buying a bunch, and seeing what time does to it? Or are these wines designed for the very purpose we are using them? Will a 12 dollar pinot do anything...interesting...over the couse of a few years?

Forgive my ignorance, trying to do something about it, and the advice I've been getting here is exactly what I'm looking for.

pinot is a problematic example. a lot of pinots will improve, but the price point of pinot is such that a $12 one i'm not sure about. basically, the thing to look at is the structure of the wine. it should have at least moderate tannin structure and it should have noticable acidity, even when very young. those are the things that will provide the framework for aging. i do cellar a lot of wines, but for different periods. i find 2-3 years is wonderful for most chianti (which i drink a lot of) with some of hte more traditional ones going way longer. most california cabs will reward 5-7 years, pinots 3-5 years. i even have a couple of california chardonnays i collect in verticals: stony hill and mayacamas. taste every once in a while and see how it's developing. i find the acidity is usually the first thing to go.

As I am just starting out with the wine thing......

Is it only worth saving wines to age if they are...well....expensive?