• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Carrot dicer?

mikehende

I like to make my own Chinese Roast Pork Fried Rice every once in a while more as for variety purposes than anything else just so I don't get tired of the same thing from the nearby Chinese Take out Restaurant, also becuase I can add/try different ingredients this way. From the research I have done, it suggests that Chinese Take out Restaurants either dice their Carrots for their Fried Rice by "hand" or they buy "frozen" carrots, neither method is practical for me as I can't get the frozen carrots to buy in small amounts and I am not good at dicing the Carrots small enough like the restaurants do so I am looking for a "tool" that can dice the Carrots around the same size as what you get when you buy the Pork Fried Rice, I have been told that I can use a "Mandoline" to do this but when I wrote to one source that sells these, I was told that there isn't anything that will do what I want, is this true?

Or does anyone know of any other tool that can do this effectively? Thanks.

Option 1: Find a better grocery store. Mine definitely does sell regular-size bags of chopped up frozen carrots (and if they're mixed with peas, well, just separate them out).

Option 2: Buy a $30 mandoline, which will make long rods, and then chop into dice.

Option 3: Use a sharp knife.

@rxrfrx