• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Online Wine Auctions

Rebel Rose

I am involved in planning a charity event for next March that will involve an online wine auction, but I have no experience with this sort of thing. The auction lots will be great . . . that I can do. But I have never bid online and I am total novice at this sort of thing. I'm toying with the idea of participating in some bidding to see how it works and check out the software features.

Has anyone here participated in online bidding? What sites are best? Did you get some good finds? Was it worthwhile? Could this become another online time sink for wine geeks?

Mary Baker

Solid Communications

Find me on Facebook

I am involved in planning a charity event for next March that will involve an online wine auction, but I have no experience with this sort of thing.  The auction lots will be great . . . that I can do.  But I have never bid online and I am total novice at this sort of thing.  I'm toying with the idea of participating in some bidding to see how it works and check out the software features.

Has anyone here participated in online bidding?  What sites are best?  Did you get some good finds?  Was it worthwhile?  Could this become another online time sink for wine geeks?

Winebid is right there in Napa. I think I would approach them about helping you out and running it for you from a technical standpoint. Think of the liability involved in running an internet auction with no expertise.

Best,

Mike

I am involved in planning a charity event for next March that will involve an online wine auction, but I have no experience with this sort of thing.