• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Eating my way from Phoenix to Napa

BouchonIntern

Well, First of all, this is my first time posting on this board...I have been a voyer on egullet for a couple months now. I have learned alot and enjoyed everyones humor and opinions.

I just finished culinary school and will be on my way to Napa to do my externship at Bouchon. I will be done with my current job on the 8th of january and leaving to Napa on the 9th. I have 6 days to spare till I have to be there so I plan to stop at as many places as possible on my way up...suggestions would be appreciated.

Ian

Ian W

Former Chef / Partner, Cafe La Terre and Bistro V Express

Sebastopol, CA

Currently living the culinary dream in South East Asia.

First off, welcome to the Board and secondly, Congrats on the Bouchon Internship! Very cool, indeed...

I've never driven the Phoenix to Napa route, but I have driven the Phoenix to L.A. route (haven lived in L.A. for a number of years) and I now live in Napa.

As opposed to an extended road trip, you might benefit from heading straight to Napa and simply eating in and around the area to learn what the locals are accostomed to and get your feel of the area. Also, the time immediately before and after New Years is a great time of year to visit the wineries -- tourism is oddly high and the energy in the valley is exciting. The wineries are beautifully decorated and everyone is relaxed and more friendly than the hectic summer months.