• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Over-extracted

Jesse

I have seen the term "over-extracted" used time and again on this board. I am new to wine and can't seem to figure out precisely what this means. Over-oaked? Got it. Over-extracted? Huh?

Definition from here.

Extraction: This refers to the extraction of phenolic compounds from the grapeskins, in order to provide tannins, colour and body. It may be increased by leaving the wine in contact with the skins for longer, although too long will result in an excessively powerful wine that seems 'over-extracted'.

Oh boy. This will start some arguments I am sure.

Go buy a bottle of Martinelli Pinot Noir. That's a good start.

Firefly Restaurant

Washington, DC

Not the body of a man from earth, not the face of the one you love

I chose very very carefully. It is of my strong belief that those Pinots are too much.

I think that her zinfandels and petite sirahs can handle it, and I am not complaining at all about her chardonnays.

To boot, I've certainly extoled the virtues of the Hayne petite sirah in your presence.

Firefly Restaurant

Washington, DC

Lets define the term-

Over: a value judgement as in "too much"

Extracted: past participle of extract.

Extract: in this case two definitions apply

1)preparation containing active principle of a substance in concentrated for

2)the sum of the non volatile solids of a wine ( acids minerals phenolics glycerol & glycols)