• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Port, fortified not with brandy?

Kent Wang

I'm a wine newbie, so please excuse my ignorance.

Do all ports have to be fortified with brandy, or is it a requirement of the good ones at least?

The Messina Hof Papa Paulo Port, made in Texas, has received numerous positive reviews on eG and won a number of awards and it is certainly the best port I've ever had in my limited experience. However, my friend who is a chef at the Messina Hof restaurant tells me that the port is fortified not with brandy but with an "Everclear-like" liquor. I still love the taste of the wine nevertheless, but is this a common or accepted practice of fortifying port?

Is b) correct? I didn't realise that Brandy had a controlled name, as it wasn't invented by the French (Brandy = brandewijn = "Burnt [distilled] wine" in Dutch).

"Champagne" grade cognacs refer to the source of the grapes (originally) used for producing the brandy, these are grown on chalky soils which is thought to give the best product.

So Cognac, Amagnac and Brandy de Jerez can't be refered to as Brandy?

Brandy is indeed a generic term while Cognac, Calvados and Armagnac (among others) are region-specific as is Port. If interested in follow-ups on each of these (and hoping not to be pompous by recommending my own articles) try:

Cognac http://www.stratsplace.com/rogov/what_make...ac_special.html

Calvados http://www.stratsplace.com/rogov/in_praise_of_armagnac.html

Armagnac http://www.stratsplace.com/rogov/in_praise_of_armagnac.html

Port http://www.stratsplace.com/rogov/englishman_port_wine.html

From the ATF label regulations for the USA: