• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Need some help...

shinyboots

Howdy NY EGulleters. This is my first time on your board, and I must say it is way hardcore (in a good way).

My family and I are visiting NYC this Thursday and don't want to be stuck with all the other tourists. So to you I beckon for help in wading through all of the restaurants/delis/cafes available.

Some Details....

What: American Cuisine preferable. Not too expensive (two siblings under 12 yrs. old who aren't looking for dining transcendence) and maybe something that has a NY-style or personality. Knock-out Sandwiches would be ok, as would a truly killa slice of pie (and I mean mad good). I was also thinking Babbo wouldn't be a bad idea - that's about as much as we would like to spend per person this time around. Oh, What about Eli Zabar places or Carnegie Deli (touristy I know)?

Where: In the morn we will be visiting MOMA. We could eat around there but it's not necessary. If there's a neato bakery or cafe around let me know.

From there we will either be heading to Central Park area or SOHO. Choices around either would be fantastic.

Well, that's all. Sorry if I'm being to picky.

Thanks for your help NY!

There's a hip new cafe at MoMA that might be worth dropping into, but when my wife and I dropped in at 11:30 AM for a couple of small plates and a glass of wine it was filling up fast. It's also kind of the polar opposite of a good sandwich place: small, tasty, well-presented and expensive portions of alarmigly hip food: raw char, potatoes with tongue, etc.