• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

"Tire"-like aroma in wine

artal

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting in the Wine forum. Question: I opened two bottles of Marta de Balta 2001 tonight (Pares Balta winery, D.O. Penedes, Spain) and the first one had an awful aroma of tires/rubber and the second one also had it, although not as pronounced. Has anyone ever noticed this in any wine they've opened? In the past I've only noticed when a wine is off but have never smelled anything like this before.

I've not had that specific wine before, but I've had the Pares Balta "Mas Elena" and thought it was one of the tastiest wines I've had.

I've experienced that "burnt rubber" smell with certain South American Malbecs or South African Pinotage before, but never in a Spanish wine.

StephenC is correct when he says sometime aeration helps. Sometimes those funky aromas (not just this one, but many) sort of "blow off" the wine after a few minutes in the glass and some swirling.

Katie M. Loeb
Booze Muse, Spiritual Advisor

Author: Shake, Stir, Pour:Fresh Homegrown Cocktails

Cheers!
Bartendrix,Intoxicologist, Beverage Consultant, Philadelphia, PA
Captain Liberty of the Good Varietals, Aphrodite of Alcohol

Typically, it's a hydrogen sulfide issue that probably isn't going to appreciably improve. StevenC mentioned mercaptans, which is hydrogen sulfide gone bad. The result can be the smell of burnt rubber, rotten eggs, garlic, sewage. If the odor you experienced is just a burnt match type of sulfur, this is usually resolved with aeration. Some people even put a penny in the glass to "correct" the wine.