• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create an account.

Sign in to follow this  
Mythreesons

Vin cotto

Does anyone know how I can make this or where I can get it ( a thick syrup made from dried figs poured over cartedatte - italian christmas cookies) ?

Regards, Tina

I am no expert, but a little search on cartedate (also spelled carteddate and cartellate) revealed some recipes and this one for Vin Cotto Fiche.

Tina,

vin cotto recipes vary a lot from region to region in Italy, so it's hard to give a single recipe. I assume the one you're looking for comes from Puglia, so in your case the recipe mikeycook found is probably a good starting point. I found an alternative one on the web, in Italian, which calls for a vin cotto made simply by reducing freshly pressed grapjuice to 1/3 of its original volume, till thick and slightly caramelised.

Carteddate can also, as far as I know, be covered, or better dunked in warm runny honey.

Alberto, cartellate are dipped in vin cotto. Honey is only an alternative.

Also pettole are dipped in vin cotto or honey.

I personally prefer vincotto than cotto di fichi, because it's' less sweet. I have a recipe for cotto di fichi

that I have not tested, do you want it anyway? In Puglia you can buy it easly, it's time consuming, so we usually buy, unless you have a lot of figs that you don't know what to do with them.

I tried to make vin cotto (from grape juice) one time there, but I personally don't advice to do so if you think of using just a little grape bought in a store.