• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Reading the German Wine Label

cinghiale

After reading the Riesling thread with interest, and having returned from a recent trip to a wine grower in the Pfalz (Weingut Ratzenberger in Bacharach), I thought I might offer a translation of the "How to Read a Wine Label" primer from the WeinGuide Deutschland 2003, which I studied prior to my trip. The Guide offers other useful infos, like grape varietals, which I'd be happy to reproduce here if anyone wants.

weinetikett.gif

The Wine Label

German wine labels are so detailed and precise that hardly anyone understands them. We will attempt to help with an explanation using a sample label.

Required Information:

1. Producer or Bottler. The terms Schloss, Burg, Kloster and Domäne are reserved exclusively for bottlings by a producer. Estates may also use the term Gutsabfüllung (i.e., "estate bottled"), but cooperatives must list Erzeugerabfüllung (i.e., "producer bottled") on their labels.

2. The Official Testing Number must be included for all Qualität and Prädikat wines. This number is comprised of several identification numbers. In the example, the number 7 stands for the testing agency of the growing region; 763, for the town; 19, for the grower; and 20 means the 20th annual testing of the grower measured in the current test year, here 1993 (= 93). Table wines must list a lot number, from which the bottler of the wine may be determined. [i can give more details about this very Germanic coding system if anyone wants.]

3. The producer’s or bottler’s location must be indicated, including the country. For Germany, the letter "D" is sufficient.