• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Internship

ChefJordan24

I am a Culinary Management student at the Art Institute of Pittsburgh that is looking to do an internship at the end of this year. I previously went to stage at Blue Hill at Stone Barns back in February hoping to do my internship there but it is unpaid and I can not afford to live in NY without any income. Any suggestions where to go?

Thanks,

Jordan

I am a private Chef for a very wealthy family.

How many people work under you, chef?

...your dancing child with his Chinese suit.

A terrible thing is ignorance, the source of endless human woes, spreading a mist over facts, obscuring truth, and casting a gloom upon the individual life. - Lucian of Samosata (born 120, died after 180 CE)

The Kitchen Scale Manifesto

I am a Culinary Management student at the Art Institute of Pittsburgh that is looking to do an internship at the end of this year. I previously went to stage at Blue Hill at Stone Barns back in February hoping to do my internship there but it is unpaid and I can not afford to live in NY without any income. Any suggestions where to go?

Thanks,

Jordan

Why NYC? It's packed with people who go there, because 'everyone goes there', and as a result, shiny new faces are kind of a dime a dozen, and have little value simply as such (I'm a New Yorker, so I'm not being dismissive of the city). Another city is far more likely to give you what you really seek and need to advance (in terms of solid experience you can point to).

Michaela, aka "Mjx"
Manager, eG Forums
mscioscia@egstaff.org