• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Travelogue -- Zimbabwe Dec '11–Jan '12

I'm sitting in a tiny 'net cafe in Harare. In here, it's hotter and more humid than outdoors. I arrived midday after a lengthy journey from Melbourne--first to Abu Dhabi and then, after a 15 hour wait in the most depressing place in the world, a flight to Jo'burg and then a short jump up to Harare, Zimbabwe.

This is my first time here or, indeed, anywhere. I'm here to meet my partner's family and to see the sights. And hence: travelogue.

Abu Dhabi

With a 15 hour wait in the UAE's capital, I figured I'd head out and explore and find something to eat more appetising than the Starbucks and Burger King avaliable in the terminal. I took a cab into the city--some distance from the airport--and noticed how sterile everything was. So clean. So few cars (and it was Saturday, sure, but ~7AM) on the five line highway. Eventually we wound up out the front of one of the city's many large shopping malls. Where there? Well, when I told the guy at the taxi rank I had a day to spend in the city but no idea how to best use my time, he said that it'd be a good starting point.

Everything was closed aside from a Pancake Parlour-type place and a supermarket. The supermarket was easily 3 times the size of anything I've seen in Australia. And it seemed to be selling mostly food: when I saw the TVs and appliances out the front I figured it was maybe more of an Aldi-type place, with a lot of shelfspace dedicated to non-edible things, but no. The meat section alone was huge: a magical wonderland of chops and cutlets and liver and roasts. Every cut and many species.