• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

E. Guittard 72%

alanamoana

I use the E. Guittard 61% Lever du Soleil regularly as it is a good general purpose chocolate with a reasonable price.

It seems that many people like the higher cocoa percentages...around 70% and up. My experience with some of Scharffenberger higher percentage chocolates is that they tend to be "dry" or "tannic". I don't particularly like them (personal taste of course). I've had some similar experience with Valrhona as well, but they are a little better...just a little expensive.

So, I'm wondering if anyone has tried the E. Guittard 72% Cocher du Soleil. I know they also have the single bean varietals, but this particular chocolate is available through www.chefswarehouse.com (otherwise known as Dairyland to the East Coasters). Price is pretty reasonable as well.

How does it taste?

What is the melted consistency like...for tempering purposes, etc?

How about in baked goods?

alanamona,

I liked the 72% "E. G." very much, although the 61% seemed a bit more "chocolate", to my palate!

We had a very good thread about E. Guittard a (few?) years ago now?

I think Steve Klc and maybe Michael Laiskonis addressed the tempering aspects of the 72% but meltwise, it was very nice.

I'll trying to dig it up and link it.

If you can have the 61% on hand as well, don't see where you can go wrong.

2317/5000

Thanks Ted.

Since I'm not working right now, I noticed a promotion in the "Pastry's Best" magazine that offered free shipping with chefswarehouse.com