• Welcome to the eG Forums, a service of the eGullet Society for Culinary Arts & Letters. The Society is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the culinary arts. These advertising-free forums are provided free of charge through donations from Society members. Anyone may read the forums, but to post you must create a free account.

Funk....

afn33282

Hey eGullet,

I am new to the world of wine, and my two-month-old job in a wine shop is accellerating my learning. My question is this: some white wines I have tried recently seem to have a certain "funky/stanky" (I believe these are trade terms, no?) character quality to them that I really do not like. I have found this quality in, among others, a Bergerac (semillon/sauv. blanc, "Tour de Monestier"), an oaked chardonnay Pays D' Oc (Languedoc, by Taillan), and two German kabinetts, including the '95 Helmut Klein Niersteiner I just opened, and do not plan to finish. These were all under 10$. Is this my problem? Is this a common quality among common wines? Or is this a stylistic issue? Or is it maybe that I just don't like certain grapes? Re. this: I can see that maybe I will never like Kabinetts and sauv. blanc but I am surprised that semillon and chardonnay is not doing it for me. I really enjoyed an oaked Beaucanon Chard (hazelnuts and honey) I had recently, so I know I will like some whites, and I also enjoyed the Colonarra Lyricus verdiccio, which I believe is not oaked and was four dollars on special, so I doubt I will have a problem with all s/s fermented wines or all cheap wines. I also enjoyed the Regaleali Inzolia Bianco, another Leonardo Locascio selection from Winebow. Any thoughts as to what the real issue is here? And what styles/grapes/wines I might enjoy?

Many Thanks.